Eco-justice / Creation Care

Awareness. Stewardship. Educate.

The Eco-justice/Creation Care Team is a newly organizing group of parishioners who put caring for creation into just actions in many ways.

This page offers links to a variety of resources for anyone interested in both practical climate action and theological/philosophical foundations for creation care.

“The moral crisis of climate change is an opportunity to find purpose and joy, and to respond to our creator’s charge. Reducing the causes of climate change is essential to the life of faith. It is a way to love our neighbor and to steward the gift of creation…. However we choose to respond, a response is necessary. People of faith have a unique call to address the causes of climate change. As we stand together in our support for the survivors of extreme weather, let us act together in ways that will safeguard our shared gift of creation — and the lives of those who will inherit it from us.”

~ Rt Rev Justin Welby,

Archbishop of Canterbury,

Spiritual leader of the Anglican Communion.

 

Speaking at Environmental Summit

at Allagash Brewery with the mayor, state representative, city councilor, head of the Sierra Club, and CEO of Revision Energy. Reminding them of the spiritual side – ‘why’ we do what we do.

Resources:

Websites

Episcopal Church USA (ECUSA)

Stewardship of Creation as a core value of the Episcopal Church

Ecumenical and Interfaith

National Religious Partnership for the Environment

Earth Ministry

Creation Justice Ministries

Gaia: an interfaith/indigenous perspectives organization based in London

Greenfaith

Jewish wisdom for contemporary times http://organictorah.org/

United Church of Christ’s Eco-Justice Ministries

Pope Francis’s encyclical letter, “On Care for Our Common Home” Laudato si’ 

Presbyterian Church USA’s Affirmation of Creation http://fore.yale.edu/files/Affirmation_of_Creation_2016.pdf

Creation-Centered Worship Resources

http://www.letallcreationpraise.org/liturgy

http://earthministry.org/worship/prayers/#people

http://www.greenseminaries.org/index.php/areasoffocus/worship

http://www.greenfaith.org/resource-center/spirit/eco-themed-worship-services/guidelines-for-eco-services

http://acen.anglicancommunion.org/resources/season-of-creation.aspx

Environmental organizations with local chapters for local action

Sierra Club’s Portland Climate Action Team (meets at St. Luke’s) http://www.sierraclub.org/maine/maine-climate-action-teams

350 Maine Greater Portland http://www.350maine.org/greater_portland

Citizens’ Climate Lobby Portland Chapter http://citizensclimatelobbymaine.weebly.com/

Friends of Casco Bay https://www.cascobay.org/about-us/

Natural Resources Council of Maine https://www.nrcm.org/

Research, policy, and advocacy

Forum on Religion and Ecology at Yale http://fore.yale.edu/

Environment Maine Research and Policy Center http://www.environmentmainecenter.org/

EPA’s carbon footprint calculator https://www3.epa.gov/carbon-footprint-calculator/

Global Footprint Network http://www.footprintnetwork.org/resources/footprint-calculator/

Post Carbon Institute http://www.postcarbon.org/

Other resources

Chubb Fellowship lecture: Simply too Hot: The Desperate Science and Politics of Climate, October 10, 2017

Contact FMI:

Sarah Braik (sbraik642@gmail.com)

Gus Goodwin (gus.goodwin@gmail.com),

Liz Parsons (ecparson33@hotmail.com)

Marby Payson (marbypayson@gmail.com)